To everything a season / Lauraine Snelling.

"Miriam Francini is determined not to let anything get in the way of her plans to leave Blessing, North Dakota, and become an accredited nurse--even love"--

Main Author: Snelling, Lauraine.
Published: Minneapolis, Minnesota : Bethany House, 2014.
Series: Snelling, Lauraine. Song of Blessing ; bk. 1.
Subjects:
Tags: Add Tag
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Review by Booklist Review

*Starred Review* The exciting first novel in Snelling's Song of Blessing series is set in 1905 in the growing Great Plains town of Blessing, North Dakota, and the myriad plot lines focus on members of the Bjorklund family, primarily Dr. Astrid Bjorklund and her mother, Ingeborg. From the capture of a bank robber to religious dissension among community members, the Bjorklund women soon realize that the peace in their blossoming community cannot be sheltered forever. Challenged to rely on God's guidance at each turn, Astrid and Ingeborg turn to their fervent commitment to Christian scripture and prayer as they care for their families and help strengthen the community they love. Snelling writes with her trademark richness, and her upright characters, intriguing stories, and vivid settings create a blissfully immersive reading experience. Norwegian language and other vernacular elements are seamlessly woven into the narrative, providing deep cultural authenticity. This symphony of immigrant farm-town life in the upper Midwest is so masterfully directed by Snelling, readers will be eager for the next novel about the good people of Blessing.--Campos, Kate Copyright 2014 Booklist

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Library Journal Review

The town of Blessing, ND, in 1905 is rich with immigrants and expanding daily. The small town's hospital is overcrowded and only has two female doctors to run it. Astrid and Elizabeth welcome the help from New York nursing students, including Miriam, who is devastated because she left her ailing mother and siblings to study so far away. Sent to meet the train that will deliver the nursing students, Trygve, a former well driller who has taken a construction job at home in Blessing, cannot take his eyes off Miriam. As the story unfolds, it offers glimpses into the many intertwined lives in this quiet town. VERDICT Snelling ("Red River Valley" series) returns to the setting of her previous books in this series opener. While transitions among chapters are a bit rough, fans of the author will enjoy getting to know the secondary characters who are as well developed as the protagonists. A sweet story for fans of Kim Vogel Sawyer and Tracie Peterson.-Shondra Brown, Wakarusa P.L., IN (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.